LOOKING BACK TO AN EVENT PACKED VACATION

18 09 2010

The just concluded college vacation has been characterized by lots of event attendance.

First, I had 8 weeks of Internship. I had never had Internship before so I was curious about how it would turn out and luckily it was great. Although I experienced lots of disappointments, it was all part of the whole Internship experience and I am glad I had it.

After Internship, I attended a 2 weeks of a Clinical Research Training workshop. This was the highlight of the vacation and is now one of the most interesting events I have attended.

During the workshop, I got to learn the various aspects about Clinical Research. We got to work in groups which I thought would be challenging but turned out to be interesting.

At the end of the workshop, I got a certificate of attendance and a memory stick containing all the lectures and a copy of the “Clinician Scientist Handbook”.

During the last week of the workshop, I got to attend a public lecture about launch of the One Health Initiative.

During this lecture, I learnt why health of all animals (including humans) should be looked at as one. This is because diseases can be spread between species and if these are not looked at as one, serious outbreaks like H1N1, EBOLA among others will always occur and will claim lots of lives.

In the last week of the vacation, I attended another public lecture about “The Relationship between Nutrition, Genetics and Non communicable Diseases”. This was my favorite public lecture because it was more relevant and specific to my field of study.

The person who gave the lecture was a Biochemist like me and did Molecular Biology at graduate level. I also loved the cocktail.

After the vacation, I attended a Google event called GUganda. I got to learn about different Google products like Google Analytics, Blogger, Web Optimizer, API, Google Maps among others. The food was good too.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 09 2010
Funding of dr? Ts to? Students – How to find deals | Federal student loans Blog

[…] LOOKING BACK TO AN EVENT PACKED VACATION « My College Days […]

18 09 2010
Student Loan Financing – How to Find the Right Deals | Federal student loans Blog

[…] LOOKING BACK TO AN EVENT PACKED VACATION « My College Days […]

Leave a Reply

