WHAT NEXT?

10 08 2011
Storm

Credit: photos.thefirstpost.co.uk

It’s been long since my last post, but i wasn’t just as idle as the blog. I am currently battling with thoughts of what i am going to do next after graduation in January 2012.

Ideally i would be expected to get a job and start working. But it’s not as easy as it sounds. Getting a job is a tough thing, if your not lucky to scoop up opportunities in some private pharmaceutical companies that don’t require working  experience, you must have connections to “big guys” mostly in government that can get you onto some job offers.

Unfortunately i have none of the above so far so i have to do it the hard way. I have to do couple of internship and lots of volunteering (working for free) in order to get at least 1 years experience or more that most employers require. That means for next 1 or 2 years i have to work for free before i can get a chance of being employed. Kinda sucks!!

Lucky for me is that i have a pending MSc fellowship (thanks to my undergraduate Zoology supervisor) but i need to have my undergraduate degree transcripts before i can take it up. The transcripts will be due in November this year so till then i have to wait. I have sent in a couple of applications for internships so i am expecting calls from some of them by the end of the month.

The next  year or so is going to be crucial in what i do in the years to come. For now it looks like i am headed for further studies (MSc) and before that i will be doing internship to build up my work experience.

That’s what next for me. Till my next post, stay safe and do good.

If you like my posts, you can follow me on Twitter for more.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 10 2011
Volunteer Work at a Wildlife Reserve « My College Days

[…] an earlier post, i hinted about my plans to do Volunteer work in order to build on my working experience so i could […]

6 02 2012
GRADUATION « My College Days

[…] to advance my career as a Biologist through getting hands on field experience and later going for further education for MSc and PhD. THE JOURNEY JUST GOT […]

Leave a Reply

